The Obama Sensationalism


With his charisma and charm, Obama is always a word away from capturing the hearts of the people he comes across. It is hard not to admit the fact that I was once an Obama maniac, back when he was running for presidency in 2008 despite the fact that I am neither an American citizen nor do I reside there. I am Kenyan (and a proud one at that).

Obama has just left Kenya after a three day visit and he has left people in a trance, you know that feeling when your favourite cousins visit during the holidays then when they go back home you are left in a non-existential phase? (Okay, I may have exaggerated that a bit) but you get the gist right?

Now his visit was significant in that he is the first sitting US president to visit Kenya. In my view, that is a non-issue (pun intended). There was so much more. Follow through…

I have learnt that we have a great president (Uhuru Kenyatta). Not that I did not recognize that before, but the bare fact that this has been greatly amplified in this very moment is significant. Uhuru has displayed an amount of wisdom relayed in his response to the gay issue: Here is what he had to say:

“Kenya and the United States share so many values; love for democracy, entreprenuership, value for families these are things that we share BUT there are some things that I must admit we don’t share. Our culture, our societies don’t accept. It is very difficult for us to be able to impose on people that which they themselves do not accept. This is why I repeatedly say that for Kenyans today the issue of gay rights is really a non issue”. |President Uhuru Kenyatta|

There is an abundance of wisdom in those few words.

Now Obama’s visit was not just a public spectacle filled with emotional and charismatic speeches, or excitement about Auma getting into the beast with her brother, or the amazing fact that we got a “free”public holiday away from work. To me, it boils down to something much more than that, It comes down to two facts:

Family is everything, Auma’s bond with Barack was genuine and strong, despite the fact that they have different mothers, and that they live in two distant countries. No matter how far you go in life, there are people who will always keep you grounded, your family.Love them and cherish them. Spend time with them, they will help you stay humble.

Obama is not just an American president with Kenyan roots, he is a symbol of hope,hope for the Kenyan child to understand that their dreams are indeed valid (big up Lupita for this sensational quote). He is an assurance that your past, background and upbringing could at the very least, influence who you are but they are not determinants of your future. I sit and ponder over the fact that I desire to be great one day (not famous). And that at times my dreams seem far fetched, but if i am determined (which I am) and if I recognize the greatness that is within me, then nothing will stop me in my quest for greatness.

Thankyou Obama for that reminder, ion, have a look at my upcoming project: You could be a part of it 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/events/1457188941246616/

xoxo

Leave a comment